Recognizing the academic achievements and leadership in the field of communications and information science of young individuals who demonstrates exceptional class ranking, demonstrated research capabilities, entrepreneurial spiritĀ and commitment to advancing “science for the benefit of humanity.” These are ideals that fit perfectly with the objectives of the Marconi Society.


Connecting with some of the most sought-after mentors in the world, Marconi Fellows. Marconi Fellows include an elite list of individuals whose work set the stage for modern telecommunications and the Internet, from Nobel Prize-winning physicists Arthur Schawlow and Sir Charles Kao to Internet pioneers Robert Kahn, Paul Baran, Vint Cerf and Leonard Kleinrock, World Wide Web creator Sir Tim Berners-Lee, science visionary Arthur C. Clarke, and Ethernet inventor Robert M. Metcalfe. More recent winners have included Google founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page, DSL modem inventor John Cioffi, encryption pioneers Martin Hellman, Whitfield Diffie and Ron Rivest, turbo-code inventor Claude Berrou, fiber optic pioneers Robert Tkach and Andrew Chraplyvy (currently with Bell Labs) and wireless luminaries Andrew Viterbi, Irwin Jacobs (Qualcomm founder), Henry Samueli (Broadcom founder), and Martin Cooper (invention of the mobile phone), among others.


Young Scholars make a commitment to remain involved in our organization, to attend future events, and to help us reach out and motivate other exceptional young scholars.